Naturopathic Nutrition

My Fibromyalgia Week and Diet – Whoops

Hullo all!

Its been a lovely week away on holiday with my wonderful little family 🙂 A week full of fun, laughter, food, sunshine, sand, sea and (unfortunately) pain. That being said, the pain hasn’t been so bad that it has beaten me, and I’m hoping that it didn’t stop me from doing things that were good for the whole family. The holiday was relaxing in equal measure with fun, and I feel proud of what I was able to achieve. I did have 2 days of really quite high levels of pain, but I kept going with my tried and tested techniques which helped a great deal.

Now for a naughty confession. The first 5 days out of the 7 were really really great on the food front. I was able to find many gluten and dairy free delights, of which lots of them were also local to the area we were holidaying, which is also important to me. However, theres always a but……..

Come the penultimate day, I caved in. I was really hungry, and fed up of often having to go without because there was no option for me. I caved into some really lovely food, that tasted incredible, but by golly did I pay…. Headaches, bloating, pain, fatigue, and generally just ergh. Was it worth it? Well, the taste was worth it and I don’t regret it that much, so yes I guess it was!

That doesn’t mean I wasn’t glad to get home and get back to normal with food preparation and habits. Having everything I need to hand is really important in maintaining my diet and therefore controlling some of my most bothersome symptoms. I’m pleased to report that the headaches have eased with just a nagging little frontal headache tonight, the bloating is dissipating slowly, and the pain is ebbing back towards that widespread mundane nagging pain that lingers in the background that I am accustomed to, as opposed to the more acute pain I had on holiday.

Sleeping in my own bed last night also helped a great deal and I slept right through, which I hadn’t done in quite a while. I used to be able to sleep well anywhere, but this isn’t the case anymore, although I was able to drop off fairly quickly in the evenings which was an improvement on the previous holiday.

Now to share with you my foodie adventures from the last 2 weeks since I last posted. Enjoy!

Roskillys farm dairy free coconut ice cream!
Roskillys sorbet – how amazing do these alcoholic sorbets look?! What I wouldn’t give for a mojito one now!
A visit to Trebah Garden is never complete without some amazing homemade cake. I used to have the cream tea but that was off due to my diet changes. Was so happy to find this Dairy Free and Gluten Free orange and almond cake!
Yes, Roskillys did well out of me last week, what of it?! This mango and passionfruit Sorbet was amazing. Who said you can’t enjoy food when you and gluten and dairy free?!
The beautiful Rick Stein Porthleven Restaurant in Cornwall. Plenty of gluten and dairy free options!
I thought I would never eat fish and chips again, but Rick Stein had this offering suitable for my and it was 👌🏻
This was a very much chucked together dish but it looked so pretty and tasted so good that I actually shared it as my latest recipe on the blog! Go check it out!

That’s it from me for today 🙂 I hope you enjoyed drooling over this weeks food! As ever you can find me over on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter, where I was quiet last week but now I’m back from holibobs will be back in action 🙂 I hope you all have a fabulous week! 

One thought on “My Fibromyalgia Week and Diet – Whoops

Leave a Reply

