Recipes

Recipe – Gluten and Dairy Free Coconut Victoria Sponge

I love cake. I mean, I really love cake. But after going gluten and dairy free I lost my baking mojo. I had convinced myself that nothing would taste the same ever again and that I would only be disappointed. Boy I was wrong!

This Gluten and Dairy Free Coconut Victoria Sponge really helped me recover from my baking grief. It was easy to make, and represented everything I love in a cake. The sponge was light and rose well, it had lashings of buttercream, and it tasted oh so sweet.

Gluten and Dairy Free Coconut Victoria Sponge

So I just had to share it with you all on here. I hasten to add that although I have gone dairy free I have not gone egg free and opted to make this cake using eggs, but as this is a very wet mix already it can be easily veganised by using an egg replacer.

So here it is!

Gluten and Dairy Free Coconut Victoria Sponge

Ingredients – Serves 8 greedy cake lovers or 10 sensible people.

For the cake

  • 175g dairy free margarine – I used Pure Margarine
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 3 eggs (or the equivalent of egg replacer for a vegan cake)
  • 2 tbsp coconut cream
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 175g gluten free self raising flour
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 50g dessicated coconut

For the filling and topping

  • 300g icing sugar
  • 50g dairy free margarine from the fridge
  • 1.5 tbsp coconut cream
  • Raspberry jam

Method

  1. Pre heat the oven to gas 4/180 degrees/fan oven 160 degrees. Line the bases and grease the sides of 2 x 8inch sandwich tins.
  2. Cream the margarine and sugar together until light, pale and fluffy.
  3. Beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well, and scraping down the sides of the bowl when mixing.
  4. Beat in the coconut cream.
  5. Add the baking powder, flour, xanthan gum and desiccated coconut to the bowl and fold in very gently with a large metal spoon, working hard to maintain as much air in the mixture as possible.
  6. Divide the mixture between the two tins and bake for 25 minutes until light and golden. Test that the cake is done by gentle pressing the centre of the cake, it should spring back up nicely. Leave to cool for a few minutes in the tins and then gently turn out onto a cooling rack.
  7. While the cakes are cooling make the buttercream by placing the icing sugar, cold margarine and coconut cream in a bowl and beating with a whisk until light and fluffy. You may find that you icing is a little runny at first, but place it into the fridge for 30 minutes and it will firm up enough to not fall off your cake! If you find that your icing is too stiff then simply add a little more coconut cream, and if too runny, a little more icing sugar.
  8. Make sure your cakes have COMPLETELY cooled. When you are sure they are cooled, spread one half of the icing over one cake, and raspberry jam to your liking on the other cake. Sandwich the cakes together and top the cake with the remaining buttercream. If you are feeling fancy you can sprinkle some extra desiccated coconut on top of your cake too….!

Hopefully your cake will look a little like this. I quite like the icing running out the. middle!

IMG_1607
The finished product, look at all that cream ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you enjoyed this recipe! Please do let me know what you would like to see me try to bake and recipe share in the comments section below, and also what you think of the cake if you make it!

Hope to see you on social media, come and give me a high five when you are on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

Toodle Pip!

5 thoughts on “Recipe – Gluten and Dairy Free Coconut Victoria Sponge

Leave a Reply

