Naturopathic Nutrition

Fibromyalgia and Diet – Week 10

Happy Monday to you all πŸ™‚

It’s been a funny old week here at The F Word headquarters. Work has been going well and I’m gradually increasing my hours to return to full time (fingers crossed). Eating has also gone well but I didn’t have the energy to cook as much asI usually do, and it soon became apparent why! On Thursday, what I think was a small fibromyalgia flare began, and I was in more pain than I had been for a long time, with my sleep taking a backwards step and the fog and fatigue out in full force. It took some hard work and determination but luckily the worst of it was over after three days, and although I’m not quite back to where I was a couple of weeks ago I am making small steps in the right direction.

I’m still learning about fibromyalgia flares and what makes them happen for me, and also learning how to get myself back on track once a flare rears its ugly head. However, for now I’m happy with my efforts, I didn’t miss any work (luckily I’m still on short hours otherwise not sure I would have recovered quite so well), I continued to maintain a good anti inflammatory diet with only the odd naughty bits, and I kept up the good work that I know keeps me well.

So because last week was a flare week, I didn’t get much chance for recipe developing except for a spaghetti bolognese recipe which is coming up later this week. My apologies if this weeks food isn’t quite as adventurous as previous weeks, but I think considering the circumstances I did rather well πŸ™‚Β I also had a bit of a love affair with avocados, and you can find out why here.

Anyway, without further ado, heres the pick of last weeks noms! As always, its all gluten and dairy free.

Strawberry and Avocado Milkshake
One of the avocado love affairs and last weeks recipe on the blog, strawberry and avocado milkshake.

Above is last week avocado adventures, feel free to pop over to my special post dedicated to this wonderful fruit!

Chocolate gluten free porridge
Gluten free porridge with cocoa, banana, raspberries and pecans. Totally indulgent breakfast but worth the guilt! Easy to make by just stirring in a teaspoon of cocoa into the porridge while cooking.
Fresh Mint Tea
Sometimes simplicity is best. Saturday morning was spent having a lazy morning (well until 9am) in bed with some fresh mint tea. Better than anything you will buy and free once you have brought a plant to keep on your windowsill!
Mackerel with New potatoes, asparagus and eggs
Spring would be spring with new potatoes and asparagus. Here we baked them in the oven with some egg and mackerel. Very tasty!

I promise this isn’t all I ate, but simply the pick of the crop, where they both tasted great and looked good on camera!

What are you eating at the moment? What food love affairs are you having? Let me know in the comments below!

I also wanted to take a moment to thank everyone who reads this blog and either shares on social media or Β with their fiends over a cup of coffee. Every time to visit you increase awareness of fibromyalgia and associated conditions. Each week that goes by I have slightly more visitors than the last and that really drives me to keep on going. So thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

Please come and visit me on Facebook and Twitter where I share news and information on fibromyalgia, and on Instagram where I document my daily life with Fibromyalgia.

Toodle pip!

6 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia and Diet – Week 10

    1. Thank you very much. It was a spontaneous experiment that worked really well. I used coconut milk for the porridge but think it may work better wth almond milk which I’m going to try later in the week!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

