Recipes

Recipe – Banana and peanut butter breakfast smoothie

Hey hey!

On social media this week I asked readers of this blog what they would like to see and the overwhelming response was…. Recipes! So I’m going to try my best to share what recipes I think people will like best and those that are easy to make with no obscure ingredients, the ones you can find in your local supermarket. For all of my recipes I will be recommending that you but organic, fairtrade and sustainable products, but will not judged you if you don’t! The first recipe I would like to share with you is actually one that I tried out for the first time this morning and really enjoyed it, Banana and peanut butter smoothie, used with ingredients suitable for a gluten and dairy free anti inflammatory diet.

Banana’s, in my mind, are probably the most popular fruit on earth. They’re healthy, delicious, easy to find, keep you filled up and contain many health benefits  for digestion, heart health, and weight loss. They contain lots of dietary fibre as well as several beneficial nutrients including potassium, vitamins B6 and C, Magnesium and Protein (there are many more but I would be here all day if I listed them all!) The nutrients found in bananas can also moderate blood sugar levels, preventing you having the post snack slump typically experienced after a carb loaded snack.

The right peanut butter (think 100% roasted organic peanuts and nothing else) is also so very good for you. It can suppress hunger, stopping you snacking on all those not so healthy snacks, and there is some evidence to suggest that it lowers the risk of heart disease, colon cancer, memory disorders, gallstones, and diabetes.

So as banana’s and peanut butter seem so well matched on a nutrition and taste front I though I would try whipping them up into a breakfast smoothie that would keep me filled up until lunch!

Banana and peanut butter breakfast smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 chopped banana (frozen if you like your smoothies a little thinker and colder)
  • 30g gluten free oats
  • 250ml almond milk
  • 1 tbsp 100% natural peanut butter (we particularly like whole earth pictured below)
  • 1 tsp honey

I’m not going to list a method and it is so easy. Just plonk all of the ingredients into a blender and whizz until smooth. Pour into your favourite glass and enjoy!

I hope you have enjoyed this recipe and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Happy eating!

 

3 thoughts on “Recipe – Banana and peanut butter breakfast smoothie

Leave a Reply

