Naturopathic Nutrition

Fibromyalgia and Diet – Week 5

Welcome back to another week of my food diary highlights, exploring the role of diet in fibromyalgia symptoms.

I am pleased to say that I am now used to being gluten and dairy free. In fact, we even went out for the day yesterday, and while my husband and children had an ice cream, I didn’t even care (and if you knew how much I used to love ice cream you would know this is a major accomplishment).

I’m not sure why this is, I got to thinking last night that maybe feeling better with more energy and less symptoms is addictive? Or maybe the thought of having more bad days than good again is scary and that I don’t want to undo all my hard work? Whatever it is, I am grateful for the willpower and new mindset, long may it last.

This last week has be delightful and has welcomed some lighter dishes along with warmer weather. As we move from winter to spring we find ourselves eating more crisp, refreshing vegetables in salads and summer dishes, rather than soups and stews. The warmer weather also definitely helps my symptoms of chronic pain.

I’ve also been blog planning this last week and I can tell you I have so much to write about! I am just trying to work out what is a good number of blog posts per week to write in order to keep people engaged but also not to overwhelm my readers. Let me know your thoughts in the comments section below.

I’ve managed to hone my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts to raise more awareness of fibromyalgia in the last week and engagement is also now better. Thanks to all of those that contribute by commenting, sharing and liking. With each small contribution the awareness wagon rolls faster and gains momentum, and that is all thanks to you!

Anyway, for now, here are my favourite eats (that I remembered to snap!) from the last week.

IMG_0812
Mackerel and Polenta fishcakes – Was pleasantly surprised by how good polenta works as a breadcrumb when I made these. It was delightfully crisp and reminiscent of breadcrumbs. I also had a bash as making my own mustard salad dressing and it was sharp, punchy and perfect!
IMG_0817
Banana, almond milk and maple syrup smoothie – I replaced my usual honey in this smoothie with maple syrup and the results were very tasty indeed!
IMG_0823
Chicken Masala – my second bash at a gluten and dairy free curry was a smash!
IMG_0826
Homemade granola with banana ‘yoghurt’ – by just putting a banana and the juice of half an orange in the blender you can create a delicious yoghurt style accompaniment for your granola, all dairy free of course!
IMG_0842
Almond milk gluten free porridge with fruit and nuts – can you tell I like breakfast? I love how versatile it can be and it also satisfies my sweet tooth for the day!
IMG_0850
Stir fried vegetables with lemon quinoa – By far my favourite way to use up leftover vegetables, you can chuck pretty much anything in, and quinoa is a great gluten free alternative to couscous
IMG_0918
I was up and feeling bright early on Sunday morning and so did a little blog planning with my morning granola baking. Again, super versatile and you once you have a good base recipe for the tasty gluten free oats you can put any combination of dried fruits, seeds and nuts in. This time I went for pumpkin seeds, almonds, pecans and raisins.
IMG_0950
Mackerel with prosciutto wrapped asparagus and egg – I was so happy to receive asparagus in my fruit and veg box last week and I believe there is no better partner for it than a good salty ham. I had the mackerel just because I am having a bit of a love affair with it at the moment!

So there you have it, I hope you feel inspired to try something new and make a healthy change today. If not for chronic pain and illness then for overall wellbeing.

Stay tuned for more fibromyalgia related posts, and feel fee to comment on this post or any others of what you would like to see more of. I am also on Instagram sharing updates on my daily life with fibromyalgia, as well as sharing up to date news and research for chronic illness on Facebook and Twitter.

Bye bye for now!

2 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia and Diet – Week 5

  1. Sarah…is this basically an anti inflammatory diet???
    I’ve now got reactive arthritis in my other knee and this kind of diet has been vaguely suggested!
    I need to know more….and the recipes are fab! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

