Naturopathic Nutrition

Fibromyalgia and diet – Week 3

Greetings foodies!

If you have been following my journey over this last week on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter, you will know that I am now a fully fledged gluten and dairy free fairy, and I have to say, it hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be.

Not that I haven’t had some pitfalls as times, I’ve been out and about, with a very empty tummy, not knowing where to turn, and a couple of the recipes I have tried have been far from perfect. But on the whole, I’ve been satisfied, still enjoyed my food, and most importantly, my symptoms of bowel pain and fatigue have already greatly improved (except for the weekend tummy bug!).

So, here are a few highlights from my first week of going gluten and dairy free. Hope it can help some of you to feel inspired to make changes for the better.

IMG_0626
I’ve been beginning my days with a cleansing warm lemon and ginger drink. I was seen to be bitterly complaining of this on Instagram, but have since added some honey and now its bearable. I wouldn’t say enjoyable yet…… If anyone has any suggestions please send my way, because although I don’t really like it, I do think it is helping me….
IMG_0603
Porridge made with gluten free oats and almond milk, topped with strawberries, flax seeds, almonds and honey. I’ve been mixing this up over the week with raspberries, cinnamon, pecans, walnuts and chia seeds. This I actually prefer this to my old porridge routine and will definitely not regret this change.
IMG_0609
Banana and oat milkshake made with banana, almond milk, gluten free oats and honey, topped with a sprinkling of cinnamon. I would recommend this to anyone, whether gluten/dairy free or not!

IMG_0619

IMG_0659
I had a go at making chickpea bread on Thursday, and it was ok. Not great but ok. Need to find another recipe for bread, but this soup was awesome. Parsnip, lemon, chilli and ginger, the taste blew my mind!
IMG_0699
Gluten free and dairy free curry, which was very simple to make, but the sauce the first time round was a bit thin for my usual liking. I have however had leftovers reheated in a saucepan tonight and the sauce thickened up beautifully. Taste was great!
IMG_0713
Another day another soup – Saturday saw leek and butter bean soup served up, right before I got sick. It was a mild taste and definitely needed the crispy kale and bacon, and possibly a little more pepper, but pleasant nonetheless. thinking of what to add to pep it up a bit, let me know your ideas 🙂
IMG_0715
By last night I was very much better, and I needed some real comfort food. So I made baked eggs with spinach, onions, butter beans, and chorizo. It was so good I had to have it for lunch again today!
IMG_0654
Okay, so not technically food, but wanted to share this tea for you. Its a relaxing blend of camomile and spearmint and is a perfect bedtime drink for my sleep hygiene.

So thats my first week of gluten and dairy free and I’m excited about cooking more and this new change. I do sometimes feel a bit sad about not eating a little dairy milk bar again, or gorging my face on fudge and ice cream when in Cornwall in the summer, but its a small sacrifice to pay for feeling brighter (I won’t say better just yet but slowly heading in that direction!). I’m also still nervous of eating out but we are going to try it this week for mothers day 🙂 and you can be sure I will report back to you!

I’m really keen to hear from others of any recommendations they have about being gluten and dairy free, with some good quick recipes and good healthy emergency snacks!

Toodle pip for now!

Leave a Reply

