Running

It’s been 3 weeks now…..

My second go at writing this post! Wrote a really long post and lost it all! 😫😫😫😫

It’s been three weeks now since I last wrote on this blog, a serious case of life, work, sulking and injuries got the way. But after some quiet reflection and being on holidays I am finally back on top of things! I will update you on what has happened after the (three) weekly round up.

Weeks 11, 12, and 13

32.66 miles limped

Total 2016 miles = 187.42m

Donations received = £280.00

2016 total raised = £1110.00

Fundraising has gone really really well despite the lack of miles run. Thanks to all that have sponsored!

Following on from the Surrey Half Marathon which was just amazing, I carried on with my training plan, as scheduled, only to be bitten by a nasty little injury. All was going well until the day of my 16 mile run………

I woke on the morning of my planned 16 miler to feel a little discomfort in my heel, nothing major, didn’t need any painkillers, but just a niggle. My calves had been super tight previous to this and in all honesty I’m not the keenest of stretchers (naughty me!). I put it down to the tight calves and ummed and ahhed over what to do. After some gentle encouragement from husband I decided to go for it, knowing I could turn around if it felt bad.

Off I went, video documenting as I went, and I felt as grrrrreat as Tony, I even shaved off a MASSIVE 20 minutes from my 2013 16 mile time. I was on top of the world. But the next morning…… OWWWWWWWW!

I had the most tremendous pain in my heel, my Achilles to be precise and I could barely walk. Going in for two 12.5hr shifts at work also didn’t help. I had a choice, to train through it, albeit gently, or rest. I decided on the latter and didn’t do any running for 13 days…… Just huge amounts of stretching, foam rolling and massage.

By Saturday I had been pain free for 3 days and decided that was the day I needed to be brave and get back out there. Just 30 minutes, test the old Achilles out. I honestly thought it would be slow and painful, but I proved myself wrong by running a fast (for me) and bouncy run!

img_0357-1

Full of confidence I just had to decide what I was going to run on Sunday, traditionally long run day. Had all gone well I would have run 18 miles, and then begun the taper section of marathon training, but my team members over at Team Orange and my head said to scale it back and go easy. So I plumped for 10 miles, all of which I am pleased to report were comfortable and pain free, despite the hilly terrain around where my folks live.

img_0358-1

As long runs go it was also quick for me, quicker than I plan to run the marathon so I am again feeling more confident about marathon day. Dare I believe I may even get a PB??!!

More on my injury and recovery next week but for now I wanted to share a reflection with you.

Easter Sunday (Graham passed away on Easter Sunday 2012) has been and gone, and 8th April will soon be upon us, marking 4 years since Graham left for paradise. One of the reasons I have not written here is because I have been quietly reflecting, weeping and getting angry at times about our experience with DMD. This poem really helps my when I feel low and I would like to share it with you all….

The Lord saw you getting tired
, And a cure was not to be,
 So He put his arms around you
and whispered, “Come with me”

With tearful eyes, we watched you suffer
, And saw you fade away,
 Although we loved you dearly,
 We could not make you stay.

A golden heart stopped beating,
 A beautiful smile at rest,
 God broke our hearts to prove
 He only takes the best.

It’s lonesome here without you
, We miss you so each day,
 Our lives aren’t the same, 
Since you went away.

When days are sad and lonely,
 And everything goes wrong,
 We seem to hear you whisper,
 “Cheer up and carry on.”

Each time we see your picture,
 You seem to smile and say,
 “Don’t cry, I’m in God’s keeping,
 We’ll meet again someday

Graham, you were too much loved to ever be forgotten ❤️

If you would like to support us in our fight against muscle disease then please donate using the following link and endeavour to end pain and suffering for all affected.

http://www.justgiving.com/Sarah-Phillips38

Leave a Reply

